Do You Love to Read?

I love to read books. It’s been a passion of mine from a young age. I’ve always been surround by reading materials. I try to keep every book I read. Sometimes I pass them along but I love to keep on building and adding on to my mini home library. I commute on a train daily and I usually pass the time with a good read. I recently decided I would like to read To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. Now many years ago I read this book as an academic requirement but I wanted to take it all in as an adult. I feel like there are so many books I have read in my younger years that I just didn’t appreciate at the time. Or as time has gone on I’ve seen the “movie” version which is a totally different experience.

So I off I went to the independent bookstore . . . which are far and few these days and an entirely other topic . . .  to purchase my copy of To Kill a Mockingbird. The young man working at the store led me to the shelf and a display where I could find my copy. My new read was part of a display of the Greatest Written Books of All Time.

Not surprising were the many recognizable titles on the display but what I did find surprising were how many books I had either read and didn’t remember or how many I have yet to read! So it is now my mission to start reading the books on this list and/or the top selling books of all time list. Now some of the books have been made into movies and I typically don’t read a book after I’ve seen the movie version or vice versa – I don’t read a book and watch the movie. And in many cases I have seen the movie BUT I think I’ll make some acceptations.

I read all genres of books. If I read something heavy I might pick up an auto-biography for the next read. And I am a sucker for a good “beach read”, for just that – a light read at the beach. But I now have a list. . . . a list of the best to read. So what are some of the best-selling and greatest books of all-time? Here are few:

According to the Guinness World Records, the Bible is the best-selling book of all time with over 5 billion copies sold worldwide.

Books selling more than 100 million copies include: Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes, A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J.K. Rowling, The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien, And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie and Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll.

Now some of The Greatest Books of All Time (on many list) include: The Great Gatsby by F, Scott Fitzgerald, War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy, Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain, Hamlet by William Shakespeare, The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck, Moby Dick by Herman Melville, The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger and of course, To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.

After I finish To Kill a Mockingbird I’m not sure what my next book will be, but it is sure to be one of these great literary treasures. I now have plenty of compelling beach reads and some fantastic additions to add to my library. What is your all-time favorite book? What is your guilty pleasure? Share with us your next book on your list!

Leave a Reply

